How does the View as student feature work?

Learn how to preview a student's Quill account using the View as student feature.

Updated over a week ago

The View as student feature allows teachers to preview what students' Quill accounts look like. Using the View as student feature, teachers can ensure that students have been assigned the correct activities or use as it reference if students have any questions.

Table of contents


How can I access the View as student feature?

There are two ways to access the View as student feature.

Access the View as student feature on the My Classes page

To access the View as student feature on the My Classes page, navigate to the My Classes page.

Then, click on the name of the class in which the student whose account you would like to view is rostered. Then, click the View as student button.

In the form that appears, click the View button to the right of the name of the student whose account you would like to see.

Alternatively, you can click the ellipsis button in the Actions column to the far right of the student's name and click the View as student option from the dropdown menu to see that student's account.

Access the View as student feature on the Home page

To access the View as student feature on the Home page, navigate to the Home page.

Then, in the Handy actions list located on the upper right side of the Home page, click the View as a student option.

When you click the View as student option, a form where you can click the View button to the far right of the name of the student whose account you would like to see will appear.


How does the View as student feature work?

When you are viewing a student's account using the View as student feature, you are seeing a preview of the student's account with a Viewing as a student banner at the top of the page.

While viewing a student's account using the View as student feature, you can see the activities that the student is currently assigned, but has not yet completed, in the To-do activities tab and the activities the student has completed in the Completed activities tab.

Tip💡 You will not be able to make any changes to a student's activities or account while using the View as student feature. If you click on a Resume, Start, or Replay button for an activity while using the View as student feature to preview a student's account, you will not be able to make any changes to the activity. Instead, you will see the message below, which allows you to only preview the activity.

To exit the preview of a student's account and return to your own Quill account, click the green Exit student account button at the top of the page.

Tip 💡

Please click here for more information about what students see in their Quill accounts.


Frequently Asked Questions


Have more questions?

Please feel free to send us a message through the green message bubble on the bottom right corner of the screen or email us at support@quill.org.

Did this answer your question?