The "View as student" feature allows teachers to preview what students' accounts look like. This can be helpful as a way for you to double check that your students have been assigned the correct activities, and/or as a way of helping to direct your students.


How can I access the "View as student" feature?

There are a few ways to access your "View as student" feature:

1. Through your class rosters on the Classes tab

Access the "Classes" tab, and click on a class section. You'll then see the "View as student" button just above your roster. Select the student you would like to view.

You can also click the three dots next to a student's name and select "View as student" to go directly to this student's dashboard.


2. Through the Home tab

Additionally, you can access the "View as student" feature from your teacher homepage. From your "Handy actions" list in your "Home" tab, simply find and click the "View as student" option.


3. After assigning an activity

Lastly, you can also get to your "View as student" feature from the assignment flow. Right after you've assigned an activity, you'll be able to see what it looks like on your students' dashboards, by clicking the "View as student" option at the bottom of the page.


How does the View as Student feature work?

Clicking on the "View as student" button (using any of those above methods) will bring you to a screen allowing you to choose which student's dashboard you'd like to preview.

Once you've clicked "View", you'll be brought into a preview of that student's screen, with a "Viewing as a student" banner at the top. To exit the student view and return to your dashboard, click the green "Back to my dashboard" button in the banner.

While in "View as student" mode, you can click through that student's account to see what activities they're currently assigned, what activities they have completed, and what their dashboard looks like. You will not be able to open activities or make any changes to the student's account from this mode.

If you click on a "Resume", "Start", or "Replay" button from that student's dashboard, you will not impact that student's activity session. Instead, you'll see the below message, and will have the opportunity to play through that activity as a preview.

Click here for a detailed description of the student dashboard.


Frequently Asked Questions

Have more questions?

Please feel free to live chat with us through the green message bubble on the bottom right corner of the screen or email us at hello@quill.org.

Did this answer your question?